Architecture

Introduction:

Architecture photography is a genre which I have always taken an interest in, I’m facinated by the architecture and design of buildings, and amazed by what engineers have been able to acheive over years of practice. Fortunatly I have been able to include three images of famous buildings taken whilst on holiday earlier on in the year. For the three images of the famous buildings, I’ve tried to mix things up a little by taking a different compositional view of them, hopfully creating lesser seen and more original versions of the buildings. For my final two, I decided to visit Willington Power Station.

Image 1:

Willington Power Station has been closed snce 1998, today all that remains of the station are its six mighty cooling towers, due to Peregrine Falcons breeding within the structures. These cooling towers have had their innards gutted allowing you to stand in the center and look right up to the top, creating the opportuity to capture this soon to be gone industrial architechture in a rare and creative way.

The below image was shot at 50mm, 1/1000th, F8 at ISO 200. I chose to shoot the image at F8 as I wanted to capture the whole scene in focus, an ISO of 200 was used as we where moving in and out of the cooling towers at the time, in the bright daylight this meant that it was easier to control exposure on my shutter speed once the other two settings (ISO and Apature) had been set, this allows for more concentration on focus and composition when time is at the essence.

In processing I boosted the Contrast by +2 on the slider, and slightly heated the scene up by a few degrees Kelvin to try and give a warmer more summer like feel to the image. after this I brought in a digital graduated filter in from the right at around a 35 degree angle just to bring out the blue sky around the tops of the towers a little more. After this the image was converted from a RAW file to a Tiff.

_MER4238-001.jpg

Filename:

MERAR0001.JPG

Metadata:

Industry, Industrial, Landscape, Archetecture, Cooling, Towers, Concrete, Power, Station, Willington, Steel, Nature, Reclaimation, Electricity, Generation

Image 2:

This image is my favourite one from the Willington set, the angle of the image and the composition really work for me personally. I like how the very bottom of the tower with the bases of the other surrounding towers can be seen, as well as the inside and the outside of the tower photographed. Usually this type of photo could not be taken because of the inner workings of the tower.

This image was taken at 18mm on a full frame body whilst laid down on the floor, just to make clear how wide an angle is required to fit the whole tower into a photo like this. The image was taken at 1/250th, F8 at ISO 200. As mentioned in the last post I had my camera set to ISO 200 and F8 as I’d already decided on my depth of field and the lighting allowed for ease of exposure control on the shutter at these settings. for this shot I dropped down to 1/250th from 1/1000th to capture the inner details of the tower. This created a slight problem however, as the tower was still slightly over exposed and the innards still slightly under exposed due to the harsh contrasts in lighting. This was something that I decided I would have to remedy at the processing stage.

Processing, as mentioned above this image was a bit of a rairity in that it required some heavy processing to get it up to scratch. The inside of the tower is under exposed and the outside is over exposed. To deal with this I first decided to tackled the inners of the tower, I did this by boosting the the shadows. The shadows where boosted until the innards of the tower looked natural, I then boosted them +1 notch extra so that the grain could be hidden by applying contrast to the innards by +2. As you can see in the image, this works quite well barring the slight bit of purple colour grain present.  To tackle the outside of the tower, I dipped the highlights slightly, and applied a graduated filter over the sky and brickwork, until the exterior of the tower looked natural. The temperature was then boosted slightly to enhance the sun reflecting from the concrete brick work to give a summer feel to the image. The image was then proccesed from a RAW file to a Tiff.

_MER4222_01.jpg

Filename:

MERAR0002.JPG

Metadata:

Industry, Industrial, Landscape, Archetecture, Cooling, Towers, Concrete, Power, Station, Willington, Steel, Nature, Reclaimation, Electricity, Generation

Image 3:

We’ve all seen the bog standard photo of the Eiffel Tower, taken in a similar way to how it’s portrayed in one of my street pictures infact. I really wanted to include the tower in my work as I was extremely impressed by the sheer scale of the tower and the remarkable engineering and design work that has gone into its construction. I wasn’t too sure how to do this though, until I was stood directly underneath it. I’m certain that this shot will have been done many times before, I doubt there are many availible shots of the tower that haven’t, but I liked the symetry and patterns in this one. It’s a little different than the rest anyway.

The image was taken at 1/160th, F8 at ISO 250. I chose to shoot at F8 again because I wanted the full structure to be in view, a shutter speed of 1/160th was used because I required stability taking this image on a windy day in a bit of an awkward position looking up, and an ISO of 250 was used to make up the rest of the exposure.

In the processing stage this image required a quick straighten and crop, the patterns weren’t quite symetrical straight out of camera. after this the image was given a boost of +2 contrast and then converted from a RAW file to a Tiff.

_MER2303.jpg

Filename:

MERAR0003.JPG

Metadata:

France, Eiffel, Tower, Steel, Lattice, Structure, Engineering, Marvel, Tourism, French, Icon, Capital, Paris, Patter, Framework

Image 4:

The Colloseum, Rome by night. I do have shots portraying the full structure of the famous Amptheartre both by day and night, but I was attracted to this detail shot of the top section of the Colloseum by night. Again, I was probably attraced to this scene simply because it’s not a ‘tourist’ style photograph as such.

This image was taken at 20s, F8, ISO 100. The image was taken at ISO 100 to keep grain at  minimum and to make the most of my cameras availible dynamic range, and the image was shot at F8 to ensure the whole structure is nice and sharp, complementing the focus. A shutter speed of 20s was required to correctly expose the image at the other two chosen settings.

Processing for this image was simply a crop on the left hand side so that the far left collumn interesects with the bottom left of the frame, other than that, this image is as was out of the camera. Processed from RAW to Tiff, as per.

_MER2762.jpg

Filename:

MERAR0004.JPG

Metadata:

Rome, Roman, Archetecture, Brick, Work, Ancient, Civilisation, Amphethreatre, Colloseum, White, Washed, Arches, Night, Illuminated, Gladiators

Image 5:

This image was shot in Venice, and portrays one of the many dome shaped churches that can be found around Europe. I liked the composition here again, as it shows everything that’s important about the buildings architecture, whilst incorporating a little bit of Venice itself into the image.

The image was shot at 1/1250th, F2 at ISO 100. I decided that I wanted this image to be framed by the hanging lamps and wooden frame of the water taxi station, but I knew I wanted the main focus of the viewers attention to be on the church itself. To do this, I shot the image at F2 focusing on the church and creating a narrow depth of field. The Image was shot at ISO 100 to keep the grain low and dynamic range high, and a shutter speed of 1/1250th requied to get the exposure correct at such a wide apature in direct bright sunlight.

In processing the contrast was boosted by +3 on the slider, ensuring that any remaining detail in the intended frame was eradicated, creating a black frame work, and adding some nice dark tones onto the side of church itself. The image was then given a quick straighten and crop, before being converted from a RAW file to a Tiff.

_MER2977.jpg

Filename:

MERAR0005.JPG

Metadata:

Venice, Itally, Canals, Water, Gondolas, Italian, Structure, Archetecture, Dome, Domed, Church, Religion, Religious, Building, Venizia

Architecture

Leave a Reply

